THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS | A PRO PHOTO & VIDEO BLOG

FotoWeek DC – We Have a Map

Posted in Events, Photography by Nathan Lee Bush on November 10, 2010

I decided in typically last-minute fashion that it would be a good idea to cover FotoWeek DC, the fast-growing photo festival, for ARC’s blog. Started in 2008, and largely free, FotoWeek is geared toward photojournalists and fine art photographers.

Researching the festival, I had been dismayed to find, amidst the sprawling website FotoWeek had set up, the single most obvious addition for someone looking to actually navigate the huge Festival, which is spread out over the city and beyond: a map. Endless lists, no Google Map in sight. I figured that surely there would be pamphlets with maps available upon arrival, so with that in mind, I took a bus from NYC to visit the ‘rents, then jumped in the car this morning to head down to the Capital.

I arrived in DC a little late (midway through the festival), a little tired, but ready to hit the pavement and see some exhibitions, lectures, workshops and photo what-have-yous. I figured a good place to start would be “FotoWeek Central”: The Corcoran Gallery of Art, an imposing building a block from the White House. When I arrived at the information desk, I asked the attendant for all the information she could give me. Imagine my shock when she slid a slim brochure which was essentially a list of hundreds of events in single space small type. It makes sense to display events chronologically, but this one perspective is completely useless for anyone not intimately familiar with the city. You need both perspectives, space and time. I could imagine myself hopping on the train to see an exhibition, crossing back across town for another, and then discovering that the third was next door to the first.

So, foregoing a few very interesting lectures and workshops, I sequestered myself in the nearest internet cafe and went to work. Many hours of laborious copying and pasting later, we have the unofficial map of FotoWeek 2010, sponsored by the finest photo rental company on the planet (Adorama). Use it well, and spread it far and wide!

Now, hopefully tomorrow I can actually see some shows.

[Note: Exhibitions (BLUE), Lectures (RED), Workshops(Green)]

[update]: For iPhone users I discovered a workaround so you can get this map in the Maps app. Unfortunately, the descriptions of the events are not included, but it will still show the location markers with the name of the venue. Email this link to yourself and then open it through the mail app and you will have the map! I haven’t tested it for Android but I assume it would work.

Nathan Lee Bush is a photo and video artist in New York City. His pictures are on his site and blog, and his videos are on Vimeo.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karyn said, on November 11, 2010 at 5:10 am

    What an amazing effort! I hope it helps a lot of photographers find what they are looking for this week. Thanks!

  2. Stacy Gold said, on November 11, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    this rocks. we knew we needed a map, but we only have a couple of part time staff and a handful of volunteers to throw the entire festival …. so thank you. maybe we can collaborate next year!

    • Nathan Lee Bush said, on November 14, 2010 at 6:20 am

      Yeah we’d love to collaborate! Hit me up on FB: facebook.com[slash]nathanleebush


Leave a Reply

